h1

Money Changes Everything

May 16, 2008

Dear Bartender: I’ve been a bartender for a few years, and am just recently finding some work at private functions. I have a gig coming up on Saturday, it’s an African dance party. The person hiring me found me online, and asked me about my rates, and I have know idea what to say! Any functions I’ve ever done have been booked through the bar I was working at, so I was only paid my regular wage. This is the first time I’ll be hiring myself out, and I’m not sure what bartenders usually make. I’ll work about 7 hours including time to help set up the bar, and they are allowing me to have a tip cup, so what do I charge????? Thanks!

–Kira

Dear Kira: I don’t know. Where do you live, in a big city or a small town? How many people are you expected to serve? How rich are the people hiring you?

How about this: decide how much you want to make total, divide it by 7 and then add $5, cuz you’re worth more than you think. And put that tip jar away — tip jars have no place at a private party.

4 comments

  1. Is it my imagination or did you have a different answer to this question posted yesterday? I might be going crazy so if not don’t pay any attention to little old me.


  2. You might be crazy, lavinia, but either way it’s true I had a different answer posted originally.


  3. African Dance Party? What currency exactly do Africans use???


  4. hey bartender, like the site. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help out.

    Shawn@bartendla.com
    http://www.bartendla.com



Leave a comment